Day #5 – The B-I-B-L-E

The B-I-B-L-E
Yes, that’s the Book for me!
I stand alone on the Word of God,
The B-I-B-L-E!

I thought Sundays would be a good time to talk about sharing God’s Word with children through reading aloud. Just like it’s never too early to begin reading aloud to little ones, it’s also never too early to introduce them to the most important Book of all time… The Bible. The Bible is actually 66 books, inspired by God and penned by men of His choosing. It’s full of history (His Story!), poetry, prophecy, proverbs, Good News, and instruction in righteousness. The Bible tells the stories of men and women of God over many centuries, and it is THE story, woven from Genesis to Revelation, of God’s plan for redeeming the human race. God’s Word is fascinating, full of adventure, sweet and precious, and life-giving… And reading it to your children will be a blessing for you and for them!

Today, I thought I’d share a few resources for reading aloud the Bible to your children. Of course, the very first thing I’d recommend is to just pick up the Bible and READ it. Children understand a lot more than we give them credit for, and reading straight from the Bible can help their understanding grow immensely. However, today I’m just going to highlight a few Bible storybooks for children that we have used for family devotions…

ChildrensBibleThe Children’s Bible

The older version of this Bible Story book (from 1965) is out of print, but I’m pretty sure there is a new version. The Children’s Bible is a collection of all the major Bible stories, from Genesis to Revelation, written accurately and reverently. The reading level is probably upper elementary, but it makes a great resource for family devotions for all ages! I’ve found enough copies of this at thrift shops and used book sales to make sure our grandkids have a copy!

StoryBibleThe Child’s Story Bible

Catherine Vos’s Child’s Story Bible (from 1935)  is another excellent resource for family devotions. Mrs. Vos tells the major biblical narratives in a grandmotherly tone, adding in historical and cultural information when needed. It’s not only a favorite of our family, but Ruth Bell Graham loved this book as well! Again, probably an upper elementary reading level, but a great read-aloud for all ages.

JesusStorybookThe Jesus Storybook Bible

And… a NEW favorite! This story Bible is directed at the younger set, with a target audience of ages 4-8. However, I love this version (published in 2007) for its “Big Picture” focus… Every story in this book, from Creation to Revelation, shows the plan of Redemption and the need for Jesus. It shows how all the stories of the Bible are not just incidental, free-standing events, but part of the ultimate plan of God. I wish I had this when our girls were young… Or when I was young, for that matter!

And just when should you read-aloud the Word of God to your children?

“Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one.  You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. (Deuteronomy 6:4-7)

That’s a pretty good suggestion… When you’re hanging out at home, taking a walk,
riding in a car, when you wake up in the morning, and when you go to bed at night.

Any time you get a chance!

ReadingAloudImage

2 thoughts on “Day #5 – The B-I-B-L-E

  1. Great post, Kim!! I echo your encouragement to read the Bible aloud to children, and I agree with your idea that children can understand much of it (aided by the Holy Spirit, of course, which is how an adult understands it too!) It is so important to hear the Words of Life! I love the verse you shared from Deuteronomy.

    We had a story Bible (I forget the author right now…) that told the stories chronologically with a little timeline running along the bottom of each page. My mom gave it to me when Bekah was a baby. We used that in our school Bible times…one time through for each girl.

    I am enjoying this excellent series, Kim!

Leave a Reply

