Day #1 – I had a mother who read to me…

This is probably the first 31 Days Project where I actually sat down and planned out the entire month’s posts ahead of time. And, in doing so, I quickly realized that we could discuss children’s’ books for at least two months before starting to run out of ideas! At least. Maybe three.

Our family loves books. We have shelves full of books. And boxes of books in the attic that no longer fit on the shelves. Our girls claimed piles of books to put in their hope chests, and each have quite the library already. We get it honest… Our parents and grandparents also had oodles of books when Hubby and I were growing up. And they read to us. Often.

NanaReading

So… This month I thought it would be fun to just highlight some of the many, many books our kids enjoyed over the years, jabber on a bit about the different types of children’s literature that is available, and discuss the importance of spending time reading aloud to children of all ages. “Reading aloud” can be so much more than a bedtime story!

I’m also hoping to pick my paintbrush back up and continue working on Pie from Scratch this month. (That was the half finished 31 Days project from two years ago… I discovered it that must be Autumn in order for me to paint pumpkins, so I’m going to devote this Fall to finishing it up! I’ll post progress throughout the month!)

ReadingAloudImage

Throughout the month of October, if you click on the “31 Days to Reading Aloud” button (above, and on the sidebar) it will bring you back to this page… All the posts for the month will be listed below so you can read the entire series! Enjoy… And chime in if you have any Read Aloud memories or tips!

Day 1 – I had a mother who read to me…
(You are here.)

Day 2 – A book that had an impact on our family

Day 3 – Something to chew on…

Day 4 – Goodnight Moon

Day 5 – The B-I-B-L-E

Day 6 – Picture Books

Day 9 – Bible Friends

You may have tangible wealth untold;
Caskets of jewels and coffers of gold.
Richer than I you can never be–
I had a Mother who read to me.
~Strickland Gillilan

One thought on “Day #1 – I had a mother who read to me…

  1. Pingback: Starting over… 31 Days of Paper Cuts |

Leave a Reply

