Day 3 – Down in My Heart…

Do you remember the children’s song, “Down in My Heart?” It was one of those super fun songs they pulled out at VBS, (along with “Praise Ye the Lord Hallelujah!), and we’d sing in our loudest, boldest, cupcake-and Kool-Aid-enhanced little voices….

I have the joy, joy, joy, joy
Down in my heart!
WHERE?!
Down in my heart!
WHERE?!
Down in my heart!
WHERE?!
I have the joy, joy, joy, joy
Down in my heart!
Down in my heart to stay!

My favorite verse was the one that had more syllables than the average six year-old can normally enunciate, but we sang it heartily…

I have the wonderful love of my precious
Redeemer way down in the depths of my heart

(That’s supposed to be all on one line, but it won’t fit.)

Even though we were pretty young when we belted out that song, we had the basic concept down. As grown-up Christians, we usually have a good grasp of theology, but often the worries and cares of life keep us from seeing the big… and very simple… picture. The most basic truth. If we are in Christ, we will have His Joy! down in the depths of our hearts. We have been redeemed, forgiven, and adopted into the family of God! What could be better than that?

Why not sing that old kids’ song today, when your Joy! is waning a bit. While you’re driving in rush-hour traffic. Or mopping Cheerios and milk up off the kitchen floor… again. Do your kids know it? If not, teach it to them today!

TakeJoyButton2013

And these things we write unto you,
that your joy may be
full.
I John 1:4

5 thoughts on “Day 3 – Down in My Heart…

  1. Pingback: 31 Days to Take Joy! |

Leave a Reply

