It all started with a doodle…

Annie wanted to bake a pie.

A pumpkin pie.

From scratch.

A couple of years ago, while playing with watercolors, a doodle of a little girl holding a pumpkin showed up in my sketch book. Pumpkins are probably my very favorite thing to draw and paint. They’re roundish and lumpy-ish, and are good practice for shading roundish lumpy-ish objects. Because of their texture, they’re fun to draw with pencil or pen. And when you add paint or colored pencil, they can be orange, tan, yellow, white, green, or even blue. That day, I had orange and blue on the saucer I use as a palette, and was splooshing the two colors around to see what new colors would show up, and lo, and behold…

Image

… a new friend!

Over the next few months, a story began to form in my mind about why this little girl would be holding a pumpkin. A general, in-my-mind sort of story, that was more pictures than words. It involved memories of spending time with my grandparents as a little girl, a lifelong desire to make stuff, and a love of old-fashioned ways that are quickly being forgotten. The story eventually became a plan for a kids’ book, about a little girl who wanted to do a real, grown-up thing… to bake a pie from scratch.

Somehow, life has been so busy that I never found the time to pull it all together into a storybook. A lot of legwork has already been done, and paintings have been started. The words are still in process, and I might need some help in that department. When I was considering doing the 31 Days Blogging Project again this year, several ideas came to mind. My next-to-last blogging topic idea was “31 Days of Finishing Unfinished Projects”… so that might give you a clue as to how many unfinished things are on my list! But then I thought, “What if I just chose ONE of those projects, and devoted an entire month to finishing it?”

Soooo… since it’s October and pumpkins are plentiful, and also since it would be a good time to brush up on my pie-making skills, Pie from Scratch became the project of choice! And, the bonus is that there are lots of 31 Days Bloggers out there that might have some really good advice and very honest opinions as this thing develops… I would LOVE LOVE LOVE this to be a hands-on, reader-involved, interactive project! As my Nana always said…

Two heads are better than one…
unless one’s a cabbage head!

See all the blog posts about making
Pie from Scratch!
by clicking below!

4 thoughts on “It all started with a doodle…

  1. Oh how fun! I’m looking forward to see what else you have in store for your blog (and us) this month. 🙂 I’m going to put your button in my sidebar.

  2. Pingback: 31 days of randomness – Personal Inspiration 26 – Premonitions | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

Leave a Reply

