I’ll Love You ‘Til…

“I’ll love you ’til the last one dies.”

That’s what Hubby had written on the tag hanging from the
pretty red roses I discovered last night on the dining room table.

I have to admit that I read it twice.

Considering my track record with keeping roses alive,
I had to really work at not laughing out loud.

After all… he was trying to be romantic.

(And I was thinking…
“You’d better keep ’em coming.”)

😀

This morning, I told him again how pretty they were,
and noted that a few of them were tipped with
a beautiful dark red, and he agreed.

And then I touched one of the dark red ones.

It was made of wood.

And he repeated…

“I’ll love you ’til the last one dies.”

🙂

Sure am glad I didn’t make a big deal out of the fact that our romance would be over in less than a week! It took me a few years to realize that true love is not “a fancy, or a feeling,” but that it is “an ever fixed mark that looks on tempests and is never shaken.” The “never shaken” part took a bit longer… It showed up somewhere in the midst of colicky babies, electric bills, long hours at work, and clogged plumbing, and wasn’t based on “romance.” But… roses and chocolate sure do add a bit of a boost, and I will NEVER turn them down!

Love is patient, Love is kind.
Love is not jealous.
Love does not boast and is not prideful.
Love is not rude or self-seeking.
Love is not easily angered and keeps no record of wrongs.
Love doesn’t delight in evil, but rejoices with truth.
Love always protects, trusts, hopes, perseveres.
Love never fails.
~from I Corinthians 13~

(A very early Valentine I got this year
from my little cousin Briar Rose!)

Happy Valentine’s Day!

4 thoughts on “I’ll Love You ‘Til…

  1. Kim, that is a delightful story! I would have thought the same thing that you did, as my plant track record is also dismal. How clever of Chris…and how very sweet!

Leave a Reply

