Words to Live By…

Brand New Year.

Y2K seems like it just happened last week.
And now we’re twelve years into the 2000’s.

Whoa. How did THAT happen?

I can remember being in third grade, and having to write a story about what life would be like in the year 2000. I have no idea what I wrote, but I do remember doing the math to see how old I would be… 34. And that number really seemed OLD. And now I’m almost twelve years past that!

I gave serious thought to making New Year’s Resolutions, but didn’t do it. I also thought about coming up with a fantastic new daily schedule for the New Year. Or a well-planned list of Things To Do. I love to make schedules and lists, much to the amusement of my family. However, it’s following them and doing them that is the problem. So in lieu of an Official List of 2012 Resolutions, or a detailed list of everything I’d like to accomplish this year, I’ve been jotting down phrases in the back of my journal that currently seem extra profound to me. They’re all scribbled on the last page… sort of a list of Principles I didn’t want to get lost in the midst of my daily ramblings to myself. They’ve been gathered from books I’ve read recently, Bible study, memories of my grandmothers, Pinterest & Etsy, and signs hanging on our walls. They’re rather random. Some are redundant… mostly the ones I really need to work on. And here they are… the things I’d like to “live by” this year…

One Another.
(Think of that as a verbal command.)

Don’t pass it by, pick it up.
Don’t put it down, put it away.

Build others up… Don’t tear them down.
(Or as my Great-Grandma Phillips would say…
“If you don’t have something nice to say…”)

Love God with all your heart, mind, and soul.
Love your neighbor as yourself.

If it’s God’s Will, I will.

A closed mouth gathers no feet.
(Duct tape helps.)

J-O-Y
Jesus first, Others next, Yourself last.

No free-range eating.

Simplify – Simplify – Simplify
(If I ever get a tattoo, it would be this.)
(I can’t even begin to imagine me getting a tattoo.)
(Just in case I worried anyone.)

😀

This too shall pass.

Today is a gift.

Redeem the time.

Take Joy.

I really truly think that putting these wise words into practice would make for a Really Awesome 2012.

Or any year.

Don’t you? Do you have any wise words to add?

Leave a Reply

