Bread Pudding!

Since we were talking about recycling Christmas cards the other day, I thought maybe recycling stale bread might be a good follow-up post! I hadn’t made bread pudding in quite a while, but we had oodles of leftover rolls from Christmas, and rather than feed them to the chickens, I thought I’d make it into something Hubby and I could eat!

This is actually a non-recipe. I go by “feel” with this one, and I really don’t think you can mess it up. Start with stale bread. We had about 18 dinner rolls left, so I broke them into bits in my large mixing bowl. Then I added about 1/2 cup of sugar, about a teaspoon of vanilla, about a teaspoon of cinnamon, two eggs, and enough milk to make a sloppy mixture. I mix it with my hands so I know for sure that it has the right feel. In ages past, I would have tasted it to make sure it was good and sweet, but I can’t recommend that due to the raw eggs. Pour the whole gloppy mess into a casserole dish, and bake it somewhere between 350 and 400 for somewhere between a half an hour and an hour. Our family always baked ours until it was hard enough to cut into squares, but it’s also good baked soft and served with whipped cream like they do in diners.

I’ve never met a “pretty” bread pudding, but it sure is yummy!

20111230-011242.jpg

Leave a Reply

