Be Content…

Our pastor spoke last Sunday on contentment. I think he just might have peeked into my Bible and saw all the verses that are double underlined and highlighted and that have stars and exclamation points in the margins next to them. Or just maybe he knew that contentment is something that pretty much all of us human beans struggle with on a daily basis. But… mostly likely… the Lord impressed on his heart that there were some folks sitting in the pews that needed to be reminded about contentment. Like me.

And we have to be content to be thankful.

And with Thanksgiving just two weeks away,
it might be a good time to consider thankfulness.

For the things we have.

For the things we have to do.

And in every circumstance and situation.

The other day I was straightening up a closet and found my “Nana” sign. She had a sign that said the same thing hanging in her kitchen, so when I saw this in a country shop a few years ago, I just had to buy it because it reminded me of her.

Nana had things. She was known in these parts as the Yard Sale Queen, and if you saw her little gray car at a yard sale, there was no reason to stop because she had already gotten the good stuff! She loved to go “junking” and was always coming home with some little treasure or super bargain. She definitely had things… but she held them loosely. From the time I was a little girl, I knew that if I liked something Nana had, I had better tell her, because she might sell it tomorrow! Or give it away to someone who needed it. The things that Nana had were used to make ends meet or to bless other people. When she left this earth, there was very little monetary value to her belongings, yet she left behind quite a legacy for her family.

A legacy of being thankful and content with just enough.

If she was here today, I’m sure she’d remind me of that
when I get tofussing or worrying or wanting
or being discontent or unthankful.

Not that I am speaking of being in need,
for I have learned in whatever situation
I am to be content.
Philippians 4:11

2 thoughts on “Be Content…

  1. What a sweet post, Kim!
    Oh, yes…there are some lessons that bear repeating…over and over and over. Contentment is one of them. It is so human to be always wanting the next thing.
    I never knew your Nana, but I just KNOW I would like her!

  2. I enjoyed that, Kim! We all need to be reminded of contentment, no matter how much or how little we have. Doesn’t the Bible say that our eye is always beholding things and never full?! Ugh. Someday I hoped I would “arrive.” I like the reminder to hold things loosely and use them for the sake of eternity. I can see you in that great pic of your Nana, by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

