Day 30 – ReFeathering with Patience and Courage

When we go to shows, the most frequent comment heard from customers seeing papercuttings for the first time is, “You must have the patience of a saint!”

If they only knew.

Confession. I am NOT the most patient person in the world.

Matter of fact, I think I actually took up this craft because I could finish a papercutting much faster than the two or three months it took to finish a counted cross-stitch piece. It is possible to think of a design, sketch it out, and, depending on the size and intricacy, have it cut by the end of the day. Papercutting is a great medium for impatient artists! However, I pretty much always respond that “Doing papercuttings has helped me LEARN patience.” There are a lot of little details, and many leaves, vines, and occasionally, heads and legs have been accidentally removed in the process of papercutting. And if that’s not enough, if I’m going to mess things up, it’s usually when I sign my name to it. Sometimes, when I’m on a tight deadline, I will actually think to make two of something… just in case of sudden disaster. Sometimes. When I don’t, sometimes my lack of patience shows up in not-so-pretty and rather grumpy ways.

So waiting to see what this new season will bring
is exciting and challenging and scary
and will involve patience,
which I don’t have much of,
and courage,
which I probably have even less of.

Where to get it?

I will lift mine eyes to the hills
from whence cometh my help.
My help cometh from the Lord,
which made heaven and earth.
~Psalm 121: 1-2 ~

Early this morning, I happened on a devotion by Elisabeth Elliott, which led me to some verses on waiting to see what the Lord had in store for the future… whether it’s tomorrow, next week, or next year. I’d really like to know what’s coming up next, or at least find a how-to book entitled “The Path to Success as an Empty Nester in Five Easy Steps.” But I think it’s going to be another lesson in patience, and it will most likely take courage. Plus, knowing the future would be like knowing what you’re getting for Christmas. It would spoil the surprise.

Wait on the Lord: Be of good courage,
and He shall strengthen your heart:
Wait, I say, on the Lord.
~Psalm 27:14~ 

Leave a Reply

