Day 29 – ReFeathering with Love

Can you tell I’m stalling a bit?

Not much has been done in the new bedroom in the
past few days… hoping to make some more progress
next week, but for now Hubby and I are in a
self-induced frame-making  frenzy!

😀

When we were first married, I discovered counted cross-stitch. I cross-stitched up a storm, collected oodles of patterns, wound hundreds of hanks of embroidery on little cardboard spools, and organized them ever-so-neatly in plastic bins. I still have those bins. I think they may be a symbol of the last time my life was in order. Not too long ago, I went through my old cross-stitch patterns, and donated just about every single one to the thrift shop.The majority of the patterns bespoke “1980-something,”  and I figured I wouldn’t be cross-stitching too many cute little bears or geese with bows on their necks on anything any time in the near future. Today, as I was looking for a picture to go along with the idea of “Love,” I found one of the patterns I used to own…

Most of the Bible verses in our home in those early years were little fragments and snippets that we had heard, accompanied by a cute little picture of some sort. I’m SURE that somewhere we had a little bear hugging a heart that said “Love Bears All Things.” After all, that scripture was in our wedding, and we knew it was important.

Eventually, after a few years, a couple of kids, and most likely more than a few disagreements, we came to realize that love is much more than warm and fuzzy. It’s hard work sometimes, especially when two people are involved. Now that we’re a bit older and wiser, we both REALLY know how important that chapter in I Corinthians is…

Love is patient and kind.

Love is not…
jealous, boastful, prideful, or rude. 

Love doesn’t demand its own way.

Love isn’t easily angered.

Love doesn’t keep a record of being wronged.

Love does not rejoice about injustice,
but rejoices in truth.

Love bears all things, believes all things,
hopes all things, and endures all things.

Love never ends.
Three things will last forever…
Faith, Hope, and Love…

And the greatest of these is Love.

It really helps me when I  take some time to go back over something familiar, like that chapter, and see it with fresh eyes. After many years of focusing on the needs of our family, it’s been interesting to focus on what holds “us” together, and to spend some time brushing up on the real meaning of Love. If anyone is interested, there are some good resources out there! Here’s a good one for couples, or individuals…

The Love Dare
(From the movie FireProof

and for the ladies…

30-Day Husband Encouragement Challenge 

One thought on “Day 29 – ReFeathering with Love

Leave a Reply

