Day 15 – Yummy Easy Meal for Two

Late today… I can blame that rascally Spanish test.

πŸ˜›

I haven’t done much in the way of ReFeathering the past couple of days, but we did have a yummy dinner last night! It was a total experiment, but it turned out pretty good, used up leftover spaghetti sauce, and took minimal effort…

Spaghetti Sauce Chicken

Place two boneless skinless chicken breasts in a casserole. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, and Italian Blend Seasoning. (That’s the official name of what I used… just a mix of Italian Herbs. You can get a lifetime supply here for around 5 bucks. I usually share it with my girls when I buy a pound of it!) Top the spices with a tablespoon of minced garlic… the wet kind you buy in a jar. And then top that with spaghetti sauce… I used about a cup or so… and a handful of grated parmesan. Cover the casserole and bake about an hour at 375 degrees. Serve with brown rice and something green. The chicken will be very tender and pretty savory too!

I forgot to take a picture, but it was a colorful dinner!

Something that I’ve been thinking about is us dining together. Just us two. I think we’ve defaulted to the sofa because the dining room table is too big for two. Or it seems so. We have a farm table that easily seats six, and can seat eight if folks don’t mind being cozy. We upsized a few years ago as teenage friends visited often and courtin’ fellows joined the family dinners. Now we’re not sure if we should sit beside each other or across from each other, but either way it seems a bit lop-sided. I’m pondering an answer for this.

One thought is to swap the long farm table for a round or oval table, which seems a bit more cozier for two. Maybe a little on the cottage-style side, like this sweet table from Crate & Barrel which actually can extend to seat 6…

I think that style would still look good with the colonial chandelier and black Windsor chairs, and I sort of lean more toward “farmhouse cottage” myself. I could move the farm table down into the Art Room, which would give me better seating for art class kiddos. But I’d have to protect that pretty top somehow from stray paintbrushes. And purchasing a new table wasn’t exactly in our immediate plans or current budget. Maybe we should find a little spot in the family room where we could stick a small table for two?

Hmmmm….

Food for thought.

4 thoughts on “Day 15 – Yummy Easy Meal for Two

  1. Hmmmm…my thoughts are running all over the place…so I’ll just share them randomly. πŸ˜€

    ~ I am amazed at all the things that you are doing! Amazed! To think about beginning a new ReFeathered Nest, all the while recovering from wedding planning/execution of plans, remodeling a room, taking classes, cooking, the store schedule, a show, framing, and blogging for 31 days straight…it is making my brain hurt to even think about it! (I confess, I am a s-l-o-w person, and easily overwhelmed by a busy schedule, so imagining myself in your place is probably a distortion. You are much more energetic and organized.)

    ~ I love the Crate & Barrel table! I know something like that would look great in your space.

    ~ On the other hand, you may not want to get rid of your bigger table. Families have a way of growing rapidly, and in a few years, you may be wondering where to put everybody when they come for a family dinner!

    ~ As I read your conundrum about where the two of you will eat, It occured to me that I might consume fewer calories if I prepared my plate and left the kitchen. Not as much temptation to get just a little bit more. (Not that you need to consider that yourself, my petite friend. I’m just thinking about some years down the road when our own nest is empty. πŸ™‚

    OK…I’ll stop musing here in your comments. I’ve written shorter blog posts!

  2. why Miss Kim what you need is a tiny bistro type table for the living room with just two chairs and perhaps a candle stick. It will be cozy and sweet. I have seen the cottage type table you are speaking of and even at 42 inches across or so it is still a big table and you will be in a big area. You and Chris just need a nice little table for two now and in a few years you will be filling up the big table again with all the family so keep it there just for that purpose.Loving your 31 day challange since I always love your writing and to get you to write for 31 days in a row is a treat.Hope to see you soon. nanc

  3. You girls are right… the need for a small table may not last very long! I do like the idea of a bistro size tucked in a corner somewhere. Mom & Dad have a small tavern table in their keeping room, and they usually eat there instead of at the “big” table. Very cozy! And easier on the pocketbook too. There’s probably a small table hiding around here somewhere under the debris that we could repurpose.

    Cheryl… some days it’s like juggling with too many balls in the air! When they start falling, it can be scary!
    πŸ˜›

    Happy Sunday!
    Kim πŸ™‚

  4. Hmm, You and your hubs seem to be pretty handy with wood.What if you cut a section of about two feet from the middle and created a leaf that you could add in when needed in the future. I think the other bloggers are right. Just when you think your nest is totally empty they are coming back for visits with the grandkids.

Leave a Reply

