Day 12 – ReFeathering with Routine

Some of us humans cringe at the word “routine,” and some of us feel very comforted by it. I belong to the latter group. I don’t like a minute-by-minute schedule, because I usually blow it by 9 a.m. and then wonder if I should start over or skip something. However, I do like some semblance of order to my day, even if it’s just a general sort of order.

For many years, we operated on the “chore card” system. With little kids helping, it was helpful to have a pile of chore cards that we lined up on the end of the kitchen table. (I actually think it helped me remember what needed to be done as much as it did them!) We each had favorite chores, and we would often race to see how fast we could get them done. With three girls in the house, those cards disappeared quickly!

Then one day, there were only two girls in the house, and it took a bit longer to get everything done. And now there’s only one. Oh my. That pile of chores suddenly looks a little daunting.

In reality, we put the chore cards away around the time that Jordan graduated high school, and I think it was all down hill from there. I did bring them out from time to time accompanied with a frenzy of fluff and nonsense about everyone doing their part and some version of The Little Red Hen story. But, having several adults in the house all wanting to establish their own routine messed up mine just a bit.

So, here I am again thinking about routine. And order. First things first. A place for everything and everything in its place. And I’m realizing my thoughts on order in the Empty Nest are rather random. So here they are, in no particular order…

The laundry pile has definitely changed.
Loads are smaller, and I actually have to wait
for a load to be large enough to wash.
(Except Hubby’s work clothes.)
I can actually keep ahead with the
“one load per day” that Nana Anne
told me to do when I first got married.

The dishes pile up a bit more quickly because
The Person Who Loved to Wash Dishes
just got married and moved out.

The dishes that are piling up are
mostly coffee cups and glasses
because I haven’t cooked many
real dinners yet for just us two.

Plants have been suffering miserably
for quite a while because
The Person Who Loved to Water Plants
moved out five years ago.

Piles of Things Out of Place are getting smaller
because when I put them away they stay there!

Boot Hill has finally been conquered.
(I hear that I’m supposed to be sad about
that, but haven’t gotten there yet.)

The stairs are clear of debris that
needs to go upstairs or downstairs.

The table still catches lots of Incoming Stuff.

If things are messy around here,
most likely I’m the culprit.

😛

So out comes my old books on creating routine… FlyLady, Emilie Barnes, and Pam & Peggy. Hopefully I’ll soon have a shiny sink, more hours in my day, and have my act together! More on this later.

And before I head off to other chores… I did manage to get the border down yesterday! It was QUITE messy, and took longer then 10 minutes. More like three hours, off and on. Here’s the pile of wallpaper border bits…

And if you look closely…

… you’ll see a Crayola Marker under the heater!

THAT’s been there a while!

2 thoughts on “Day 12 – ReFeathering with Routine

  1. Just found your blog through Guild of American Papercutters. I enjoyed this post and chuckled when you said you weren’t sad about Boothill yet! I relate to a lot of your thoughts here. I still have two college aged here at home. Blessings. ~Anita

  2. Hi Anita!

    I just saw your comment! Sorry I didn’t reply sooner!

    And I’m still admiring the lack of a shoe pile by the back door!
    😀

    Good to meet you!

    Kim 🙂

Leave a Reply

