Day 6 – A Place of Rest

After typing up yesterday’s post, I went and took a good long look at our current bedroom. And took the feather duster with me. I shuffled some stuff that was outgoing or incoming or attic-bound out of the bedroom and into the Workroom. And suddenly it didn’t look so bad. The clutter and dust was causing a lot of discontent, but uncluttered, it suddenly seemed restful.

Bedroom View, With Cat

 Even peaceful.

View Number Two

We need places of rest in our lives… somewhere we can go to get away from the ringing phones, (Plural intended… have you ever had every cell phone, plus the land line ringing at once? We have!) buzzing dryers, beeping oven timers, e-mails, calendars, and To-Do lists. We need to walk away from the business and busyness of every day life and just Be Still.

I have a very difficult time with finding stillness. Partly because I don’t say “no” often enough, but mostly because there are a lot of things that I want to do. I often get one too many irons in the fire, and end up getting burned. Or burnt out. And then I’m crabby at the whole world  and it’s really not the world’s fault. Starting with our bedroom, I’d like to really and truly work on creating some resting places in our lives. Places of wisdom and beauty.

By Wisdom a house is built...

... and filled with rare and beautiful treasures...

 Come unto me all ye that labour
and are heavy laden,
and I will give you rest.
~Matthew 11:28~

Extras: Deleted Scenes

Whatcha Doin'? Can I help?

Look how cute I am! PRRRRRRR..........

6 thoughts on “Day 6 – A Place of Rest

  1. Kim, I have discovered the same thing. Often when I get discontented with my small house, I find that if I get everything really clean and uncluttered, it suddenly changes the whole way I feel. Peace is restored in simplicity. I pray you will be able to find and savor those places of stillness, both outwardly and inwardly.

    Love, love, love your deleted scenes! (smiles)

  2. That’s for sure, Frances! I think we all shuffle so much stuff these days. We have so much, and still want what we don’t have!

    Hope you have a great day!

    Kim 🙂

  3. Hi Karen! Thanks for stopping by! I’ve not been very consistent about blogging lately, but we finally figured out what we’re supposed to do in our empty nest period… Fill that nest back up! Hopefully I’ll be able to share in the next few days! 😄

Leave a Reply

