The view from here…

We’re just beginning to get back into the swing of things here… new designs are in the work, winter classes are coming up, and Hubby spent the day in the barn making frames. I’m back looking at the view I see for many hours a day…

It’s a nice view, but it’s definitely not a “looking up” sort of view! I’ve listened to quite a few movies, and I’ve missed quite a bit of scenery while riding in the mini-van. (Yep, it is possible to papercut in a car… you just need well-trained family members to warn you of upcoming bumps, curves, and railroad tracks!) I’m not sure why it took so long to figure out what to “do” while papercutting busied my hands until I was browsing through the library a few weeks ago…

Books on Tape.

Actually, they’re on CD. Now why didn’t I think of that sooner? Our very first book is Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. I’m ashamed to say, as a retired homeschool Mom, that I’ve never actually read the book. Watched the movies umpteen gillion times. Read aloud a bazillion other classic books, but never Jane Austen. Assigned it to my high schoolers, but never read it myself. We’re over halfway through (yes… it has drawn Kate downstairs and away from her treadle sewing machine… and Hubby has drifted in from the shop…) and I have to say that…

… the real book is way better than the movies.

Well, of course it is.

So my very late New Year’s Resolution is to listen to every Jane Austen Book On Tape in our library system. I think I can keep that one.

🙂

January is always a time to re-organize and spruce up things a bit around the house, and I was very excited to hang the curtains my Dad (and Mom too!) bought me for Christmas! I saw these beautiful lace curtains a while back, but was a little too frugal to splurge for them. Mom & Dad were shopping before Christmas, and Mom showed them to Dad… and he bought them on the spot! (I think that’s the very first time he’s ever bought curtains!) Boy, was I completely and totally surprised! They look just like papercuttings…

And when I do look up from my lap desk,
I get to enjoy a new “view from here!”

Aren’t they pretty under the valances Kate made us this fall?

7 thoughts on “The view from here…

  1. I’m with you on the Jane Austen thing… Its a bit embarrassing, for such an avid book reader to have never picked one of her volumes up. But somehow I managed to make it all the way through my school and single girl years without even knowing her name (I know… crazy!). By the time I was interested in reading them, I had small children to care for, and well, you know how that goes. Someday…

    And THOSE CURTAINS! I think I would re-arrange my entire house if necessary to find a place to hang them! What a beautiful treasure. 🙂

  2. I’m still thrill with the curtains… they really soften up the room!

    And I picked up Emma from the library yesterday! We’re all hooked!

    Kim 😀

Leave a Reply

