On patience and giant eggs…

Somehow we got talking about patience this morning at the Frey home. Oh, yes, I know what started it. I was trying to make a copy and I had scanned something earlier, and the copy machine wouldn’t copy until I put it back in “copy” mode instead of “scan” mode. So when I thought it should have been done, it hadn’t even begun. Grrr. Kate was nearby and laughed. She knows her mother well.

Patience is a great virtue.

That’s one of our family’s favorite sayings, and usually it’s teasingly said at someone who is not being very patient at the time. It was a common quip of my Nana’s, and we loved to remind her of it! What is really funny is the most frequent comment I get when someone sees me papercutting is “You must have a lot of patience!” Ha! I’ll usually manage to respond with “Well, it’s taught me patience!” All the while Kate is trying not to laugh outloud! (And Hubby has gained enough age and wisdom to not say anything at all!) I think I’ve gained patience over the years in some areas and lost it in others. There’s been a major loss of patience for things electronic. But, I can sit for hours and cut out little pieces of paper. Go figure. 

Early American Life had the neatest article on the naming of children, and it mentioned how the Puritans and Quakers took to the habit of using “grace names”… giving their children names of character traits they hoped they would aspire to. Like Mercy and Truth and Honor. Those are incredible names, and we sort of did that with the girls! Their nicknames were Patience and Grace, (We won’t say who was who!) and I can attest to the fact that they truly grew into them!

Before I head out, I have GOT to show you this picture! I know I’ve posted similar pictures before, but I am completely amazed when I see one of these…

img_2800

The bottom egg is a “grade A large.” I don’t know what to call the top one!

Leave a Reply

