Pancake Tuesday!

We had a late dinner tonight, and since today is Pancake Tuesday, we thought “breakfast for dinner” would be very appropriate! As Kate started the turkey bacon sizzling (Hey, at least SOMETHING was healthy. Sort of.), I pulled out the pancake making stuff and opened up my recipe notebook to our old stand-by pancake recipe. Across the page was a recipe that I had never tried… Pumpkin Pancakes! They sounded really yummy, and we were in an experimental sort of mood, so we went for it. I wasn’t sure how Hubby would like them, but he proclaimed them really good, so we thought that might be worthy of sharing the recipe with you all! I wish I could give credit to whomever this recipe came from, but it’s hand-written in my notebook and I honestly have no idea where I got it. Anyway, here is the Pumpkin Pancake recipe, and it comes highly recommended by the Frey family:

dsc_0002

Pumpkin Pancakes

Sift together 1 & 1/4 cups Flour, 2 Tbsp. Sugar, 2 tsp. Baking Powder, 1/2 tsp. EACH of Cinnamon, Ginger, and Salt, 1/8 tsp. Nutmeg, and a pinch of ground Cloves. In a separate bowl, mix together 1 Egg, 6 Tbsp. Pumpkin, 2 Tbsp. melted butter, and 1 cup Milk. Fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Pour about 1/3 cup batter onto an oiled pan at a medium-low temperature until they bubble, then flip and finish off the other side.

It made about 9 medium pancakes, which was all we needed. Play with this a bit… we have a backyard flock of chickens, so our eggs are not exactly standard size, and I used a smallish egg. We also used soy milk and dairy-free margarine. The batter was a little too thick to pour, so we had to thin it with a bit of extra soy milk. Maybe next time I’ll use a bigger egg? Very yummy with some sliced strawberries and whipped (soy) cream. And Kate and Chris added peanut butter.

I’ve been working on finishing up some old projects this week, and finally got the Jacobean-inspired papercutting done. The frame doesn’t fit on my scanner, so here it is without a frame…

asthedeer

The colors in this one are very subtle, and the black background helps bring them out a bit. It was fun to work in a slightly different style.

I also finished the bird cutting I started in December…

earlywillseek

I REALLY love the way the staining turned out with this cutting. If you stain the paper before cutting, you get an “all over” pattern, like the As the Deer cutting above. (Look closely… the stripes of stain in the verse area continue down into the picture below.) If you stain it after cutting, each cut edge soaks up the staining. Because it’s so fragile when wet, I’ll often leave a papercutting to dry on a piece of waxed paper, and it soaks up even more stain, making it very dramatic. This one has a lot of contrast in the verse area!

Wonder what I’ll get into tomorrow? I need to get a few orders out, but it’s been nice to de-clutter my desk a bit and get these pieces safely behind glass!

Leave a Reply

