Help?

Well, Kate managed to venture into the world of CSS and gave her blog a personal touch, so I got brave enough yesterday to attempt it as well! I managed to upload a background I found at Citrus Moon, and then spent the rest of the day playing in Photoshop Elements and snipping paper to make a new header. Thank heavens Kate came home in time to rescue me (or the computer?) because I was having serious issues with “layers.” She was able to put my parts together to make this:

thistle_dew_blog_banner

Now… how on earth do I get it from here to up there? And will it fit? Hmmm…

Any ideas on making the blog look a little more interesting? I love all the eclectic blogs I’m seeing out there, but I would say I lean toward simplicity and minimalism. I’d like to just soften things up a bit, visually. A little on the primitive side, but not too grungy. A little more colorful? Hmmmm again…

In other news, I had a quiet day, and spent most of it attempting to keep the woodstove going (we’re into greener wood now… used up all the well-seasoned stuff), though I did manage to finish a papercutting that’s been sitting on my desk since early January. It was a bit of a home-maky day… caught up on laundry, cleaned a bit, did some sorting and organizing, and cooked a turkey breast in the crock pot.

And here’s a bit of fun… I saw an article in Hallmark magazine about using Shrinky Dink plastic to make Valentines, and got quite inspired. And ordered some. With grand ideas of making wonderful intricate cut-outs and shrinking them. Well. The plastic is a bit harder than I expected, and cutting it out wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be. But I did play with it for the better part of Sunday afternoon, and with the help of watercolor pencils, ended up with this one sweet little piece. I only cut the outside edge, but I haven’t given up on the idea of interior cutting yet! And it was just as fun as it was when I was a kid. Here it is in reference to my 3 1/2″ scissors…

inspirationfeb09

And a close-up…

shrinkheart

Just plain fun.

2 thoughts on “Help?

  1. I love your new banner, but I’m afraid I don’t know much about WordPress and CSS, or I would offer to help. My blog is a Typepad blog, and it doesn’t require a lot of knowledge about such things. Someplace though, WordPress should have instructions and thoughts about sizing banners. I can resize yours for you, if you will need to do that.

Leave a Reply

