Sunshine and Shadow…

After a rather dreary and rainy week, it’s been nice today to see the sun shining brightly and to open some windows and let the breeze blow through the house! Leah of Farmhouse Blessings inspired me to take full advantage of solar power… I very nearly plunked that load of laundry into the open dryer, but I thought twice and headed outside to hang them out. They’re happily flapping in the breeze!

Homemaking tip: Ladies, if we do at least a load each day, laundry rarely has a chance to pile up! (For large families, adjust proportionately!) Honestly, if we girls keep up with that little chore daily, we often have to scrounge around to find a full load, and many days we can safely say there’s no need to do laundry today!

Jordan has been doing a Black & White Photo Challenge on her blog, and dear old Mom has not even attempted to add something until today. Inspired by clothespins, here’s my “Beauty in the Every Day, Black & White Photo!”… although I cheated a little. For the life of me, I cannot figure out how to make our digital camera take a B&W photo, so I had to change it in iPhoto.

Art Tip: If you’re doing a drawing or painting, and need to more clearly see the contrast of shadow and light or the gradation of tones, take a picture or scan your reference photo and turn them into Black & White using your photo software. You can bump up the contrast, brightness, and sharpness to really get a good tonal reference!

And since we’re doing a black & white theme, graphite pencil fits in just fine too! I’m having a grand time with the botanical drawing books… even if I’m only getting a few minutes here and there to sit still and draw. I don’t think I’ve used a stomp since I was in high school art class. I forgot how much fun they are! They definitely keep your fingers clean when doing blending with pencil or other smudgy things!

One of the greatest things in the world is to train ourselves to see beauty in the commonplace.

~Charles Hawthorne~

3 thoughts on “Sunshine and Shadow…

  1. I’m so glad you were able to enjoy the outdoors while drying your laundry today. Isn’t it a blessing? As I was hanging our clothes out this morning, I was in awe of the joy that can be found in the simple things of life.

    And speaking of awe, that drawing is amazing. God has certainly blessed you with a gift.

    Smiles,
    Lea

  2. Your drawing is wonderful. Drawings of trees and leaves have always been a favorite thing of mine. Black and white photographs are almos a lost art!

  3. Thanks Lea and Diana! It’s been fun to do some detailed work again, even if just for practice!

    Kim 🙂

Leave a Reply

