Can You Doodle?

Recently, Kate found a recording of Betty Hutton and Perry Como singing “I Love You, A Bushel and a Peck.” There’s a story behind that song for my family. It was one of Nana Anne’s theme songs. (Other theme songs included “The Only Little Petunia in the Onion Patch” and “We Ain’t Got a Barrel of Money!”) She sang it to me from the time I was a tiny little girl, and when I got older, we’d sing it together, as silly as we could. And I sang it to my girls. I had never heard the original recording, though (I thought Nana made it up!), and it starts out with Betty and Perry asking each other if they could “doodle.” Then they’d sing “doodle-doodle-doodle, doodle-doodle-doodle, doodle-doodle-doo-doo-doo.” As silly as THEY could.

So, with that in mind… can YOU doodle?I don’t think I’ve ever seen doodling actually taught as an official art lesson, but it does help you learn to draw and be free with a pencil and paper. January’s doodle is a snowflake. If you look on the January activity page, I just drew some very simple snowflakes… doodling them can help you gain control of lines, as you control the length of each line, or make the lines fine & light or thick & heavy. You gain control of line when you work at making them intersect just right. And you can be creative by adding little details to your snowflakes (like the one on the journal cover I posted yesterday)… remember that no two snowflakes are alike! So, when you’re on the phone, or watching a movie, grab a pencil and paper and make some snow!

Doodle Doodle Doodle, Doodle Doodle Doodle, Doodle Doodle Doo-Doo-doo

2 thoughts on “Can You Doodle?

  1. I remember that song, my dad and mom used to sing it a lot too! And I used to doodle!

    I’ve tagged your blog, please visit my blog for details if you want to play along.

Leave a Reply

